Atmospheric Integrated Research at University of California, Irvine



Click on any image for more information about each faculty member.

International Collaborators

Noted international researchers are members of our AirUCI team, including:

U.S. Collaborators

National Lab and Agency Collaborators

We collaborate closely with researchers at U.S. agencies and two U.S. National Laboratories: Pacific Northwest National Lab (PNNL) and Lawrence Berkeley National Lab (LBNL).  Our National Lab and agency partners include:

Fulbright Scholar

Our second Fulbright Scholar, Prof. Hind al-Abadleh of Wilfrid Laurier University, joined us from December 15, 2018 through April, 2019 and conducted collaborative research projects with AirUCI groups as well as teaching an upper-level Chemistry course. Dr. Jonathan Abbatt of the University of Toronto was the inaugural Fulbright Scholar at the AirUCI Institute from January - April, 2018. 

Senior Science Advisor

Dr. James N. Pitts, Jr. was an additional resource for our team from AirUCI's inception until his death on June 19, 2014 at the age of 93.  He was Professor Emeritus at the University of California, Riverside, co-founder and past director of the University of California Statewide Air Pollution Research Center, and was an AirUCI senior research chemist until the end.  He is greatly missed.    Visit the Jim Pitts memorial page
Read the Spectrum article about Jim's career

AirUCI Research Team

Much of our work is carried out by our talented research team, comprised of postdoctoral researchers, graduate students, and undergraduate students.  Our summer staff often includes chemistry teachers at the community college and high school levels who share with their students the latest research results from our projects.  In addition, we regularly host visiting researchers from outside institutions as we build on collaborations and conduct joint research projects.

Postdoctoral Researchers Research Specialists Ph.D. Candidates Undergraduates
Dr. Ting Fang Dr. Murat Aydin (Associate Researcher) Jonathon Babila Altay Bayrakci
Dr. Djawhar Ferrah Mr. Zachary Cornwell (Jr. Specialist) Vahe Baboomian Joey Jo-Yee Cheng
Dr. Clare Flynn Mr. Michael Ezell (Sr. Research Specialist) Jared Bruce Henry Chin
Dr. Christopher Holmes Dr. Alfredo Frietes (Project Scientist) Sabrina Chee Suki Gu
Dr. Chaopeng Hong Dr. Juno Hsu (Project Scientist) Amy Christiansen Syed Muhammad Hassan
Dr. Natalia Karimova Dr. Michael Lawler (Project Scientist) Ryan Dempsey Uyen Le
Dr. Pascale Lakey Dr. Shahir Masri (Research Specialist) Wing-Sy DeRieux Kaden Martin
Dr. Ying Li Dr. Laura McCaslin (Asst Specialist) Danielle Draper Duy Nguyen
Dr. Nanna Myllys Dr. Theresa McIntire (Project Scientist) Lauren Fleming Michael Olsen
Dr. Yue Qin Dr. Estefania Rossich Molina (Asst Specialist) Robert Fofrich Andre Paradise
Dr. Dan Tong Dr. Veronique Perraud (Project Scientist) Hayley Glicker Khanh Pham
Dr. Michael von Domaros Dr. Roger Seco (Project Scientist) Amanda Haines Danielle Rocco
Dr. Shupeng Zhu Dr. Marc Carreras-Sospedra (Research Scientist) Brian Hwang Claire Socorro-Weeks
  Dr. Weihong Wang (Project Scientist) Kyle Kabasares Terra Wang
  Dr. Lisa Wingen (Project Scientist) Kara Kapnas Jiaqi Wu
    Fatemah Khalaj  
    Alexandra Klodt  
    Vanessa Machuca  
    Anne Mielnik  
    Julia Montoya-Aguilera  
    Fabian Muresan  
    Hoang Nguyen  
    Mindy Nicewonger  
    John Patterson  
    Saleh Riahi  
    Andrea Rohrbacher  
    Daniel Ruiz  
    Tim Schuetz  
    Jessica Sharpe  
    Natalie Smith  
    Yi Sun  
    Sara Tadayon  
    Allison Vander Wall  
    Alexa Watson  
    Jinlai Wei  
    Cynthia Wong  

Support Staff

Melissa Sweet, AirUCI Project Coordinator

Victoria Stewart-Goss, AirUCI Administrative Assistant