Atmospheric Integrated Research at University of California, Irvine


Here's the latest news from AirUCI — our events, our people, our science.



Wed, 01/16/2013
AirUCI undergraduate researcher Geovani Montoya has been awarded the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP) Fellowship of $500 to support his attendance at the April, 2013 American Chemical Society meeting in New Orleans.  Congratulation, Geovani!
Fri, 01/04/2013
AirUCI's Matt Dawson, one of our excellent graduate student researchers, has been awarded the initial Metrohm Young Chemist Award for his work on "Accurately predicting particle formation and growth from gas phase precursors" from MetrohmUSA Corporation.  Matt will present his present his work at the PITTCON conference and expo in Philadelphia, PA in March, 2013 and his research poster will be put on display during the press conference announcing his award.  We're so proud of you, Matt!


Tue, 12/11/2012
AirUCI PI Filipp Furche was awarded the 2013 Durac Prize by the World Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists (WATOC) for his developments in time-dependent density functional theory and its application to photochemistry, and for his contributions to the random-phase approximation for small bandgap systems.  Congratulations, Filipp!
Tue, 11/13/2012
AirUCI has an open postdoctoral research position.  Here is the advertisement, which can also be found in Chemical and Engineering News and in Eos beginning November 19, 2012. Postdoctoral position in atmospheric chemistry, Dept of Chemistry, University of California Irvine. Lab studies of the fundamental processes involved in formation and growth of particles and of interface processes in the atmosphere. Ph.D. required. Send CV and contact information for 3 references to Prof. B.J. Finlayson-Pitts, UC Irvine is an equal opportunity employer committed to...
Wed, 10/31/2012
AirUCI PI Don Blake will speak at the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute forum on October 31, 2012 at the University Club on the campus at UCI.  His lecture is entitled "Global Warming: What UC Irvine is doing to further understanding of this phenomenon."
Thu, 10/18/2012
AirUCI will host a group of visitors from the Japan Automobile Research Institute (JARI) on the afternoon of October 18, 2012.  They will tour our labs and hear information on our research, particularly our SOA studies.
Thu, 10/18/2012
Students and teachers from Huntington Park College-Ready Academy High School will tour the AirUCI labs and hear an overview of our research and how it relates to life in Southern California on October 18, 2012.
Wed, 10/17/2012
On October 17, 2012, AirUCI will host Orange County Girl Scout Troop 873 as they "follow their journey" to learn about and use resources wisely.  They will tour our labs and hear about issues relating to air quality, pollution, and careers in science.
Wed, 10/17/2012
AirUCI researchers participated in Irvine Unified School District's annual Ask-A-Scientist Night on October 17, 2012.  More than 400 people attended, and students had the opportunity to ask questions about science and receive answers from our group and others at the event.  Our Veronique Perraud, Carla Kidd, Crissy Anderson, Matt Dawson, and Kathryn Perrine represented AirUCI. Read the Orange County Register article
Mon, 09/24/2012
AirUCI's Matt Dawson has been named as one of this year's recipients of the prestigious ARCS Scholar Awards, which recognize UC Irvine's most academically superior doctoral students exhibiting outstanding promise as scientists, researchers, and public leaders.  Way to go, Matt!