Energy Sources and Pollutant Emissions

Vojislav Stamenkovic

Contact Information
(949) 824-3426

Joint Professorship in UCI's Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Department of Chemistry (Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry, University of Belgrade, Serbia, 2001)
Prof. Stamenkovic came from a career at the U.S. National Labs to UCI in 2020.  He is also affiliated with AirUCI’s partner group, the Advanced Power and Energy Program, as an expert in electrochemical systems for energy conversion and storage, in heterogeneous catalysis, and with expertise in fundamental, functional biomaterials design for fuel cells, electrolyzers, and batteries.

Research Interests: 

Energy conversion and storage, surface modifications, thin films, nanoscale synthesis, electrochemical interfaces, fuel cells, electrolyzers and batteries

Selected Honors and Awards: 
Member, American Chemical Society
Member, Materials Research Society
Member, Electrochemical Society
Member, American Vacuum Society
Highly Cited Researcher 2018-2020, top 1% worldwide researchers citations in all fields, Web of Science, Cross-Field
U.S. Department of Energy Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Award, 2014
Excellence in Science Award, Gordon Research Conference, 2009

Steven J. Davis

Contact Information

University of California, Irvine
Department of Earth System Science
3232 Croul Hall
Irvine, CA 92697-3100


Professor of Earth System Science, University of California, Irvine: [Ph.D. in Geological and Environmental Sciences from Stanford University].  Prof. Davis works to understand and find ways to meet the challenge of satisfying global demand for energy, food, and goods without emitting carbon dioxide to the atmosphere.

Research Interests: 

Biogeochemical cycles; energy technology and policy; emissions and energy embodied in international trade; life cycle assessment; interactions of agriculture and climate; human drivers of greenhouse gas emissions; and socio-economic inertia of climate change. Expert in the interactions of energy, agriculture, water, climate and international trade.

Selected Honors and Awards: 
2015: National Academy of Sciences: PNAS Cozzarelli Prize
2016: UC Irvine: Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education
2017: Ecological Society of America Sustainability Science Award
2018: AGU Macelwane Medal (Conferred Fellow)

Prof. Jacob "Jack" Brouwer

Jacob "Jack"
Contact Information

221 Engineering Lab Facility
Mechanical, Aerospace, & Environmental Engineering Dept., UCI
Irvine, CA  92697-3550

949-824-1999 x221

Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Associate Director of the National Fuel Cell Research Center (NFCRC) and the Advanced Power and Energy Program (APEP)
Jack Brouwer received his B.S. and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering degrees from UCI, and his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1993.
At the NFCRC, Professor Brouwer conducts research projects in: 

Research Interests: 

Science and engineering of energy conversion with coupled mass, energy and momentum conservation, chemical and electrochemical reaction and heat transfer; steady-state and dynamic modeling of fundamental processes that govern energy conversion devices such as fuel cells, electrolyzers, and gas turbine engines; solid state ionics and electrochemistry; fuel processing; synthesis and experimental investigation of novel fuel cell materials sets; analyses of integrated energy systems comprising fuel cells, photovoltaics, fuel processing, gas turbines, and wind turbines; experimental analyses and model validation; renewable energy; life cycle analyses of energy conversion technologies.

Selected Honors and Awards: 
International Who’s Who of Professionals, Honored Member, 2006
National Academy of Engineering, Invited Lecturer, 2004
Member, Sigma Xi Scientific Research Society, 1992
U.C. Regents Fellowship Recipient, 1987-1988
Summa Cum Laude, UCI, 1987
Member, Tau Beta Pi Association, 1986

Prof. G. Scott Samuelsen

Contact Information

Advanced Power and Energy Program
The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697-3550

(949) 824-5468

Professor of Mechanical, Aerospace, and Environmental Engineering at the University of California Irvine, Founding Director of the Advanced Power and Energy Program (APEP), the National Fuel Cell Research Center (NFCRC), and the UCI Combustion Laboratory (UCICL). 

In addition to the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Professor Samuelsen holds a joint appointment in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and the Institute of Transportation Studies. He received his M.S. and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley.

Research Interests: 
  • energy systems with a focus on gas turbine combustion
  • fuel cell technology and fuel cell systems
  • microgrid and smart grid technology
  • hydrogen and electricity infrastructure
Selected Honors and Awards: 
UCI Medal for contributions to energy and the environment 2010
Recognized by President Obama in 2011 as a “Champion of Change.”

Prof. Donald R. Blake

Contact Information

Department of Chemistry
University of California, Irvine
570 Rowland Hall
Mail Code: 2025
Irvine, CA 92697

Group site:

(949) 824-4195

Professor of Chemistry at UC Irvine.

Ph.D. in Chemistry, University of California Irvine.

Research Interests: 
  • Atmospheric chemistry
  • Analysis of trace gases in exhaled breath
Selected Honors and Awards: 
Bank of America Chemistry Award 1975
UCI Chemistry Department Outstanding Teaching Award 1979
Excellence in Undergraduate Research 2001
ACS Chuck Bennett Service through Chemistry 2004
Outstanding Professor Alpha Phi Society 2000, 2002, 2005
NASA Group Achievement Award 1993, 1998, 2000, 2006, 2009
Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education, Physical Sciences 2008
Elected Fellow of AAAS 2008
Lauds and Laurels 2009
Elected Fellow of AGU 2009
American Chemical Society Award for Creative Advances in Environmental Science and Technology 2013
Tolman Medal, Southern California Section of the American Chemical Society, 2022